HEARTBURN by Nora Ephron

I didn’t really enjoy Nora Ephron’s most well-known films (When Harry Met Sally, Sleepless in Seattle) but when she died earlier this year I read so  many good reviews of this book I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. I am really glad I did. From the recipes thrown in every so often, to the incredibly funny anecdotes and one liners, HEARTBURN got to me. The story of a marriage break up, told with the benefit of hindsight, Ephron confesses all, as therapy, as warning and as entertainment. She concludes that there is no such thing as a faithful man, that denial in the face of the facts is perfectly normal, that the end of a relationship is not the end of the world even if it feels like it, and that mashed potato has the potential to mend broken hearts. She also reveals why writing about painful events is so powerful and it is these words that have stuck with me:

Because if I tell the story, I control the version.

Because if I tell the story, I can make you laugh, and  I would rather have you laugh at me than feel sorry for me.

Because if I tell the story, it doesn’t hurt as much.

Because if I tell the story, I can get on with it.

Leave a comment

Filed under biographical, comedy, love story

Leave a Reply

